The Guggenheim Museum New York and Fallingwater are among eight Frank Lloyd Wright buildings added to UNESCO’s list of World Heritage Sites.

The structures are the only pieces of modern architecture in the US now recognised by the organisation, which also chose Wright’s Frederick C Robie House, Hollyhock House, Herbert and Katherine Jacobs House, Taliesin, Taliesin West and Unity Temple. Some 50 years of the architect’s career is represented by the buildings.

Frank Lloyd Wright’s Robie house has reopened to the public
Frank Lloyd Wright’s Robie House. Photography: Tim Long. Courtesy of Frank Lloyd Wright Trust

Their addition is thanks to more than a decade of lobbying by The Frank Lloyd Wright Building Conservancy, which selected the eight sites from over 400 remaining works by the architect. The organisation’s executive director, Barbara Gordon, has described their recognition as a way to ‘reconfirm how important Frank Lloyd Wright was to the development of modern architecture around the world’.

The buildings are in good company, joining the likes of the Sydney Opera House and Taj Mahal.

NYC's Guggenheim Museum
Herbert and Katherine Jacobs House
Herbert and Katherine Jacobs House living room. Photography: James Steakley

Read next: Take a neo-Brutalist tour of Melbourne



Share Tweet